Who’s changing retail’s future?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WASHINGTON — The National Retail Federation’s NRF Foundation has identified the 25 individuals on its The List of People Shaping Retail’s Future.

A celebration honoring the industry stalwarts is set for January 13 at the NRF Foundation Gala, which will be held during NRF 2019: Retail’s Big Show in New York.

“There has never been a more exciting time to be a part of the retail industry, and people on The List 2019 epitomize the creativity, enthusiasm and energy in retail today,” said NRF Foundation president Ellen Davis. “This year’s honorees are at the forefront of innovation in retail: creating new businesses, breathing life and energy into existing concepts, impacting investments, and spearheading change that inspires industry leaders and consumers across the globe.”

The fifth annual Gala is expected to raise more than $3 million for NRF Foundation initiatives, including educational and inspirational programs, student scholarships and RISE Up, an industry-backed training and credentialing program.

The Foundation Gala will be co-hosted by former president and CEO of Neiman Marcus Group and chair of the NRF Foundation board Karen Katz and BJ’s Wholesale Club chairman, president and CEO Christopher Baldwin, who is currently chairman of the NRF board.

The event will also bring together hundreds of industry leaders to pay tribute to this year’s honorees and award scholarships to students aspiring to become retail leaders.

Last year, Walmart chief executive officer Doug McMillon was recognized as The Visionary, an annual award given to an inspirational and transformative retail executive. The Visionary award for 2019 will go to Chip Bergh, Levi Strauss & Co. president and CEO.

The 2019 honorees in each of NRF’s five categories are:

The Disruptors

Tim Brown and Joey Zwillinger, cofounders and co-CEOs, Allbirds; Diane Dietz, president and CEO, Rodan + Fields; Shea Jensen, senior vice president, customer experience, Nordstrom; Susan Tynan, founder and CEO, Framebridge; Heidi Zak, cofounder and co-CEO, ­ThirdLove.

The Dreamers

Jessica Alba, founder, The Honest Company; Charlotte Gould, CEO, Stitches by Charlotte; Amanda E. Johnson and KJ Miller, cofounders, Mented Cosmetics; Steph Korey, cofounder and CEO, and Jen Rubio, cofounder and chief brand officer, Away; Ajay Kori, cofounder, UrbanStems; Jo Malone, founder and creative director, Jo Loves.

The Givers

Lisa Bradley and Cameron Cruse, cofounders, R.Riveter; Mike Brady, president and CEO, Greyston; Jim Haslam II, founder and philanthropist, Pilot; David Heath and Randy Goldberg, cofounders, Bombas; Tina Sharkey, cofounder and CEO, Brandless.

The Influencers

Stacy Brown-Philpot, CEO, TaskRabbit; Oliver Chen, managing director, retail and luxury head, Cowen; Jason Del Rey, senior editor, commerce, Recode; Kirsten Green, founder and managing partner, Forerunner Ventures.

The Power Players

Steve Barbarick, president and chief operating officer, Tractor Supply; Neil Blumenthal and Dave Gilboa, cofounders and co-CEOs, Warby Parker; Diane Ellis, president, Chico’s; J. Michael Evans, director and president, Alibaba Group; Carolyn Tastad, group president, North America, and executive sponsor, gender equality, Procter & Gamble.

Among last year’s power players was Helena Foulkes, who at the time was serving as executive vice president at CVS Health, and president of CVS ­Pharmacy.



You must be logged in to post a comment Login